The Science and Ethics Committee has for task to reflect on major societal issues that are likely to have an impact on the long-term development of the energy sector in the region and beyond.

Members of the Science and Ethics Committee of the Sahara Wind Project.

Abdelaziz BennounaAbdelaziz Bennouna: Chemistry Professor, former head of the fuel chemistry laboratory at the Sciences Faculty of Rabat, and the Renewable Energy Unit of the National Center for Scientific and Technical Research CNRST in Morocco. Dr. Bennouna has published a variety of books on the future of Renewable Energies, amongst which "Morocco: towards an energy exporting nation" in 1994.



Philip J. Crowley Philip J. (P.J.) Crowley: Professor at the Institute for Public Diplomacy and Global Communication at The George Washington University. P.J. serves on the Board of Directors of Al Jazeera America. Between 2009 and 2011, he was the Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs and Spokesman for the U.S. Department of State. Atlantic Magazine named him as one of 21 Brave Thinkers in 2011. P.J. is a retired Air Force colonel and served on the National Security Council staff at the White House under President Clinton.


Hans-Josef Fell Hans-Josef Fell: Member of the German Parliament (1998-2013) and President of the Energy Watch Group (EWG). A globally recognized expert on energy policy, he has been a promoter of 100% renewable energy worldwide for many decades. Fell co-authored Germany’s Renewable Energy Sources Act, the most instrumental tool for the deployment of renewables, replicated over 100 times worldwide. Since 2014, he has been President of the EWG, an international network which analyses global energy developments, commissions independent research and provides policy advice. Fell’s lifetime achievements have been acknowledged by several awards including the Lui Che Woo Prize for Sustainability in 2018.


Bernard FroisBernard Frois: PhD in Physics (University of Paris), Advisor of the Technology Research Division of CEA in France, Bernard Frois chairs the EU Hydrogen “Member States Representative Group” and managed new energy technologies programs for the French National Research Agency. He was director of Energy, transport, environment and natural resources at the ministry of Research, professor at the University of Utrecht, Research Associate at CERN, Switzerland and director of research at CNRS. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Craig GlazerCraig Glazer: Vice President--Federal Government Policy for PJM Interconnection (USA). In this capacity, Mr. Glazer coordinates all of PJM’s regulatory and legislative policies before Congress, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commissions, the United States Department of Energy and other federal agencies. PJM operates the largest competitive wholesale electricity market in the world and serves over 9% of the United States population. Mr. Glazer heads PJM’s Washington, D.C. office.

Abdelaziz MimetAbdelaziz Mimet: Professor of Energy and Physicist. He led the research team "Energy, Fluid Mechanics and Materials" at the Faculty of Sciences of Tetouan for many years. National Coordinator of the competence center "Energy" and Focal Point in Morocco in the 7th European Framework Programme (FP7) for the theme Energy, Pr. Mimet is currently Director of the Ecole Normale Superieure of Tetouan in Morocco.

Ahmedou Ould-AbdellahAhmedou Ould-Abdallah: Top UN official, Ambassador and Minister several times including that of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation in the Mauritanian Government, Mr. Ould-Abdallah has also been CEO of the country’s largest conglomerate Société Nationale de l'Industrie et des Mines SNIM. Adviser to the Secretary-General of the United Nations on issues related to energy, renewable energy and on African issues, he was also Special Representative of the United Nations for Burundi, Somalia and West Africa. Very active in many non-governmental organizations, Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah is co-founder and member of the Advisory Council of Transparency International.

Hermann ScheerHermann Scheer+ (1944-2010): President of EUROSOLAR; General Chairman of the World Council for Renewable Energy (WCRE); President of the International Parliamentary Forum on Renewable Energies; Member of the German Bundestag and Author. A leading voice for the development of renewable energies in the world, late Dr. Scheer was the Recipient of many awards, among them the Solar World Prize 1998, the World Prize on Bioenergy 2000 and the World Wind Energy Award 2004. The legacy of Hermann Scheer lives-on through the 'Hermann Scheer Foundation'. your social media marketing partner
FaLang translation system by Faboba