World Technology Network logo

Nomination for Prestigious World Technology Award

April 28, 2009

The World Technology Award Honors individuals for their Innovative work with the Greatest Likely Long-Term Significance.The World Technology Network (WTN) announced that Khalid Benhamou of Sahara Wind Inc. has been selected as a nominee for a 2009 World Technology Award, presented by the World Technology Network, in association with TIME magazine, Fortune magazine, and Science magazine, among others. Khalid Benhamou is eligible to be selected as the Winner of the 2009 World Technology Award in the category of “Social Entrepreneurship.”

James P. Clark, founder and Chairman of the World Technology Network, commented “The World Technology Awards program is not only a very inspiring way to identify and honor the most innovative people and organizations in the technology world, but it also is a truly disciplined way for the WTN membership to identify those who will formally join them as part of our global community. By working to make useful connections among our members, we look forward to assisting the nominee to continue to help create our collective future and change our world."

Winners will be announced on July 16, 2009, in New York, at the World Technology Awards gala ceremony at the TIME & Life Building at the conclusion of the two-day World Technology Summit. The World Technology Awards honor individuals and corporations from twenty technology-related sectors viewed by peers as being the most innovative and doing the work of the greatest likely long-term significance. Award categories range from communications, biotechnology, space and energy through to ethics, design and entertainment.

Nominees for the 2009 World Technology Awards were identified based on an intensive, global process over a period of many months in which current individual WTN members (primarily elected WTN Fellows from previous Awards cycles, who now number over 1000, spread out over 60 countries) made their nominations based on who they think is doing the innovative work in their field of the greatest likely long-term significance. After the WTN gathers further information from nominees, WTN individual member then vote on their preferences within their category. The top five selections in each category are announced from the podium on stage at the Awards ceremony, and inducted into the WTN membership as Corporate Members. The Winner receives an Award on stage and makes comments about their innovative work to those assembled.

A selection of WTN members in the 20 different award categories who nominated/judged/voted in recent years includes:

- Tim Berners-Lee, Director, World Wide Web Consortium (W3c)
- Niklas Zennstrom, CEO & Founder, Skype
- Gordon Moore, Co-Founder, Intel
- Kilnam Chon, Professor, Korea Advanced Institute Of Science And Technology (Kaist)
- Richard Marks, Manager, Special Projects, Sony Computer Entertainment
- Lawrence Lessig, Professor, Stanford Law School; Author “The Future Of Ideas”
- Philippe Van Nedervelde, Executive Director, Foresight Institute Europe
- Calestous Juma, Professor Of The Practice Of International Development, Kennedy School Of Government, Harvard University
- Gary Shapiro, President, Consumer Electronics Association Of America
- Don Peppers, Co-Founder, Peppers & Rogers Group; Author “One To One Future”
- Dan Gillmor, Author, “We The Media; Grassroots Journalism By The People, For The People”; Former Technology Columnist, San Jose Mercury News
- Gregory Stock, Director, Program On Medicine, Technology, & Society, UCLA
- Fred Von Lohmann, Senior Intellectual Property Attorney, Electronic Frontier Foundation
- Leslie Vadascz, Former President, Intel Capital
- Ann Winblad, Co-Founder, Hummer Winblad Venture Partners
- Richard Dasher, Executive Director, US-Asia Technology Management Center, Stanford University
- Josh Wolfe, Co-Founder & Managing Partner, Lux Capital
- Albert Teich, Director, Science And Policy Programs, American Association For The Advancement Of Science (Aaas)
- Daniel Goldin, Chairman, The Intellisis Corporation; Former Administrator, NASA
- Molly Coye, President, Health Technology Center
- Bert Keely, Architect, Tablet Pc, Microsoft
- Jim Fruchterman, President & CEO, The Benetech Initiative
- Alexandra Weber Morales, Editor In Chief, Software Development Magazine

This year’s World Technology Awards ceremony will cap the 2009 World Technology Summit taking place on the 15th and 16th of July at the TIME Conference Center in the historic TIME & Life Building in New York City. This year’s Summit -- which has as its theme "How to Save the Future,” will also include demos from the stage, and exhibits from the floor. For more information on the World Technology Network, World Technology Awards and World Technology Summit, please visit

About The World Technology Network
The World Technology Network is a New York-headquartered organization that was created to "encourage serendipity” - happy accidents - amongst those individuals and companies deemed by their peers to be the most innovative in the science and technology world. WTN's areas of interest range from IT and communications to biotech, energy, materials, space, and related fields such as finance, marketing, policy, law, design, and ethics. Each year, WTN members are brought together through an ongoing global series of regional roundtables, global Summits, and other events. The WTN has also convened the World Energy Technologies Summit at UNESCO headquarters in Paris. The central events in the WTN calendar include the annual World Technology Summit and World Technology Awards - the culmination of a global judging program through which new members are nominated and selected and by which the network grows and is refreshed. your social media marketing partner
FaLang translation system by Faboba